Here is a collection of songs that are close to my heart. Many of them hummed inside my brain and asked to be shared. Some came in a flash, others took years to complete. Each has a story, each is a journey.
These songs have had a magical power in my life and I hope they will enhance yours as well. My goal was to create new songs for today with the qualities that made the Standards so enduring. I had the privilege of knowing the late, great Harold Arlen and it was difficult to choose among his brilliant compositions. I picked the Cotton Club hit, ‘I’ve Got the World on a String,’ with its delightful verse. The centenary of his collaborator, lyricist Johnny Mercer, took place just prior to the initial studio session and ‘Skylark’ and ‘Jeepers Creepers’ had been highlights of a recent Hermann’s Jazz Club tribute. Alec Wilder’s lovely ‘Moon and Sand’ has only recently received the attention it deserves. Wilder never knew that his song would one day find its place in the Songbook. I’ve segued it with ‘Moon and Sand and Love,’ an original based upon it, as I have done with Vincent Youman’s ‘Without a Song,’ pairing it with ‘If You Have a Song.’ Wayne Shorter’s ‘Footprints’ begged for words, and the composer kindly accepted the lyric of ‘Follow the Footprints’ as an official adaptation. Most of these songs were recorded live off the studio floor and have that ‘in the moment’ jazz flavour. I hope they lift your spirits and fill your life with the magic of song.

1. Let Go! (words & music by Carol Sokoloff) 3:58
2. Winter Moon (words & music by Carol Sokoloff) 4:54
3. Moon and Sand (Wilder, Palitz, Engvick )/ Moon and Sand and Love (Carol Sokoloff) 4:51
4. Jeepers Creepers (Harry Warren & Johnny Mercer) 3:23
5. Summer Nights (words & music by Carol Sokoloff) 4:31
6. Follow the Footprints (adaptation of Footprints by Wayne Shorter; lyric, Carol Sokoloff) 6:13
7. A Moment for Peace (words & music by Carol Sokoloff) 3:42
8. I’ve Got the World on a String (Harold Arlen & Ted Koehler) 4:33
9. Without a Song (Youmans, Rose, Eliscu) / If You Have a Song (Carol Sokoloff) 5:13
10. Skylark (Hoagy Carmichael & Johnny Mercer ) 4:55
11. Fly Away (words & music by Carol Sokoloff,) 3:30
12. Don’t Give Up (words & music by Carol Sokoloff) 3:36
13. I Had No Idea (words & music by Carol Sokoloff) 5:34
14. A Little Love (words & music by Carol Sokoloff) 5:12

Carol Sokoloff, vocals, arrangement, design and co-production.
All songs by Carol Sokoloff represented by SOCAN and SODRAC. Copyright 2010.
Produced and mixed by Wynn Gogol (
Recorded at 1 Ton Studios, Victoria BC

Kenny Seidman, piano
James Young, bass
Kelby MacNayr, drums

Colin Campbell: trumpet, flugelhorn and guitar
John Wright, bass (tracks 3, 8, 13)

CD Photography, Gregg Eligh (
Band photos, Rick Van Krugel, Bob Sheret

Wild Song
2808 Prior St. Victoria, BC V8T 3Y3
(250) 385-3378